NaNoWriMo

So, thanks to my failure to be a regular blogger the past few days, I’m now worried about NaNoWriMo

The idea of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is to write a 50,000 word novel between 1st November and 30th November. The whole idea is quantity over quality. Now, there are many that dismiss NaNoWriMo as trash-writing for wannabes. I disagree. There’s something entertaining in pushing your boundaries, ignoring the editor in you, and just seeing where your creativity takes you. Yes, there is a lot that will be utter rubbish. There is also a lot that can be used. First drafts of anything are never perfect, but there is always something to be rescued.

My anxiety now though… to write 50,000 words in 30 days, you have to average 1,667 words per day. So round that up to 2,000 words a day, 2 blog posts to write a day, a novel already in process, a full-time job, and if we’re being generous, time to eat and sleep. The past few days have proven that social life tends to cause a wobble in my reliable blogs. With 2,000 words to add into the mix, will I still be able to juggle it all?

Other Wrimos can. Why can’t I?

So I’m starting a new job tomorrow – and have vowed to save every penny. Therefore the beckon of the pub will be outweighed by the absence of money, right? Easy. I have also decided to cheat a little… said started-novel is going to be my work-in-progress for NaNoWrimo… and said blog (one of them) will be linked to NaNoWriMo next month; all you lovely readers will be able to keep up with my self-loathing as I try to squeeze 50,000 words out in a month. It shouldn’t be too hard… should it?

I always promised to subject myself to NaNoWriMo, purely on the basis that I wanted to see where my boundaries lay, to see if I could really be disciplined enough to do it. This year, I’ve decided to DO IT FOR REAL. This means (as other Wrimos recommend) telling as many people as possible you’ll be doing it, so as to shame yourself into actually doing it.

No matter what the critics say about NaNoWriMo, it’s a chance for people to have fun with stories and language, to speak to others who enjoy writing as much as they do, and just letting creativity loose. There are no rules about genre, prose or poetry, dialogue or language or description. The emphasis is on the word count. If you can throw out 50,000 words in 30 days, there is a good chance that some of it will be pretty good, and it might also prove that you ARE able to write a novel and why shouldn’t you pursue your dream of being the next J.K Rowling? I love the idea that people can just have fun, without thought behind it, and still produce a creative burst of writing. Writing should never be a chore, and NaNoWriMo makes it playful again… You can do the editing later.

Who else is taking part in NaNoWriMo this year? What are your reasons for it and are you ready for it to begin in 15 days time!?

And what are people’s thoughts on National Novel Writing Month?

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWrimo

One response to “NaNoWriMo

  1. here’s my take – if you have nothing else to do take that challenge to create a ROUGH DRAFT in a month. But you, like me, blog and have projects well underway, this challenge is beyond accomplishing.
    My other pesonal take is once you’ve created 50,000 words of unpolished work, what then? Another 18 moths of polishing, fattening, plotting and selling?
    I wish everyone luck on this worthy challenge. I am, however, sitting this one out.

Leave a Reply

