The Lies of Locke Lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Gollancz: paperback published 2007: 530 pages

The Thorn of Camorr is said to be an unbeatable swordsman, a master thief, a friend to the poor, a ghost that walks through walls.

Slightly built and barely competent with a sword, Locke Lamora is, much to his annoyance, the fabled Thorn. And while Locke does indeed steal from the rich (who else would be worth stealing from?), the poor never see a penny. All of Locke’s gains are strictly for himself and his tight-knit band of the thieves: The Gentleman Bastards.

The capricious, colourful underworld of the ancient city of Camorr is the only home they’ve ever known. But now a clandestine war is threatening to tear it apart. Caught up in a murderous game, Locke and his friends are suddenly struggling just to stay alive…

 

Thank you, thank you, thank you, to Lola Sees Stars for making me read this book. Yes, think Oliver in fantasy terms, but better. It’s funny, sharp, dangerous and all the in-between. I kind of see Locke as a young-Johnny-Depp-as-Captain-Jack-Sparrow-slash-Jensen-Ackles-as-Dean-in-Supernatural, which instantly makes me love him. I can’t say anymore about this book without giving away anything and I WANT YOU ALL TO READ IT RIGHT NOW. I’m so gutted that it took me this long to read it, because I could have happily devoured it in a day.

Rating: 8.5/10

Next book: The Affinity Bridge by George Mann is a steampunk that was leant to me by H at work. After the brilliance of Locke, this could be amazing or awful. Set in Victorian London we have a Scotland Yard inspector with his kick-ass female sidekick… Locke was Oliver… is this Sherlock Holmes?

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “The Lies of Locke Lamora

  1. Lies of Locke Lamora is probably my most favorite book. It’s a therapy book for me, when I’ve been down, depressed, confused, angry, this is the book that I go to, because I always feel better after I’ve read it. It’s funny, snarky, full of beautiful swear words and rogue-ish young men with crooked smiles. and of course, who doesn’t love a brilliant heist story?

    Scott Lynch is totally my hero!

  2. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies | Inkings and Inklings

Leave a Reply

