Day Twenty-Seven of NaNoWriMo

If you are a follower of this blog on Facebook or Twitter (or both… and if you’re not, why not!?), you are probably aware that I’ve just eaten my weight in roast beef.

You are also probably aware that the Queen of Procrastination (me) has just spent the last afternoon writing blog posts.

So, no, NaNoWriMo has not taken over my Sunday. Instead, food and family has. I should feel like a fail.

And yet, oddly, I don’t care. It might be the immense amount of dinner I’ve ingested. It’s also the discovery that there is no avenging NaNoWriMo angel that descends from the blue and strikes me down with a bolt of righteous lightening just because I’ve not written anything but blog posts and emails for a while. I know, you NaNo-heads, you might be shocked and worry that I really have lost it (and I’d better not be saying this out loud in case the NaNoWriMo Avenging Angel really does strike me down), but it’s true!

So I may as well accept that I’m not going to reach 50,000 words by Wednesday. But hey, I’m kind of okay with that. I’ve made massive in-roads to my novel, and it’s basically all there ready for writing and editing. So it gets written by the New Year instead. I’m also okay with that.

Guess what? I can’t NOT edit! I am way too much of a control freak to be able to Let It Go. So, I can also be thankful for NaNoWriMo proving this point for me. Water for Elephants may have been created in the midst of the madness that is November and National Novel Writing Month, but let’s face it – Tolkien took decades to write his stuff.

I am completely Pro-NaNo. I don’t care what people say that it’s encouraging sloppy writing – it’s encouraging writing, and enthusiasm for writing again, and that’s pretty damn good enough for me. Will I be doing it again? Ask me next October…

This isn’t the last post about NaNoWriMo, my faithful NaNo-readers. No, no, I will keep going with it until the bitter (joyous) end. Who knows – I might have a mad few hours of genius on Tuesday night and reach 100,000 words by midnight of Wednesday. I won’t, but who knows.

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWrimo

Leave a Reply

