Day Twenty-Eight of NaNoWriMo

I attempted to write a bit today, and I actually didn’t do too badly. Well, by not too badly, I mean a couple of hundred words. Not the 20,000 I need to succeed at NaNoWriMo.

But, still. It’s a lot better than I have done. And, as mentioned in my last post, it’s kind of okay that I’m not going to beat NaNoWriMo (I’m not that competitive anyway).

Instead I’m going to pootle along at my own pace and decide when I finish (and edit as I go). Today, I wrote a snow scene. Yes, the novel is currently set in mid-summer, but I had an urge to write about snow (maybe it’s the cold weather making me feel frosty). It might not make it into the novel ultimately, but now I have an idea of how my characters are going to handle cold weather… not very well apart from Rayne it seems, but it makes for an interesting addition to their characters!

So I’m playing around with the characters a bit, seeing what happens to the story when I do, and hopefully turn my 30,000 or so words into something resembling the bare bones of a fantasy novel.

Out of interest – what makes a successful fantasy novel for you?

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWrimo

One response to “Day Twenty-Eight of NaNoWriMo

  1. For me, I like a fantasy novel that has an entire new and original world created. I like characters who are smart, witty, and defy the ordinary. I like a few dragons, mermaids and unicorns here and there, but keep out the vampires.

    I don’t know. It really all depends on the writing, and if the writing takes me into a whole other world.

    Good luck on completing your novel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

