Stardust

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Headline review: paperback published 2005, 194 pages

In the sleepy English countryside at the dawn of the Victorian era, life moves at a leisurely pace in the tiny town of Wall. Young Tristran Thorn has lost his heart to the beautiful Victoria Forester, but Victoria is as cold and distant as the star she and Tristran see fall from the sky one evening. For the prize of Victoria’s hand, Tristran vows to retrieve the star for his beloved. It is an oath that sends the lovelorn swain over the town’s ancient wall and into a world that is dangerous and strange beyond imagining…

 

Okay, so where do I begin?

It’s nothing like the film, so don’t even go there. It’s not quite a short story and not quite a novel. I love Neil Gaiman – American Gods and Neverwhere are two of the best books I’ve read – and to be fair, this is a good Neil Gaiman. But I’m really not sure what to think of it. I think because I saw the film I was hoping to read about the cross-dressing Captain Shakespeare of the sky-ship (as played by Robert De Niro), but this never happened. But then Tristran is better, and there are other characters to fall in love with. So… Hm… I’m not quite sure what I think yet.

Rating: 7/10

Next book: I couldn’t help it – I’ve got to go back and find out about my Starks… so it’s A Storm of Swords: 1: Steel and Snow I go. I will eventually emerge from my Seven Kingdoms cocoon, but I’m not quite ready yet!

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Stardust

  1. This might be one of those instances where it would help if you hadn’t seen the movie first. 🙂 I actually didn’t even realize there was a Stardust movie! Now I’ll have to check it out. The book was a good read though. Great review!

Leave a Reply

