New Year’s Resolutions

Give up drinking, stop smoking, more exercise… the usual resolutions are pretty passé by now. And besides, no one ever sticks to them. I’ve heard a couple of people claim their New Year’s resolutions are not to have any resolutions. So what are my resolutions? To write a novel? Read all the books I keep getting told “everyone” should have read? Lose the Christmas belly?

To be honest, I can never decide on resolutions. I always think of one, and think it’s a brilliant idea for an hour and then realise that it’s never going to happen. My resolution is generally something about getting published, winning a competition or just finishing my novel. And come the next New Year’s, I have to make the same resolution all over again because I forgot about it by mid-January and never did it.

I could make a New Year’s resolution about blogging – more posts per day, more followers… I’d love for my fashion blog to be up there with the greats, and I’d love to have some amazing author recognise my writing blog. But actually, the only reason I started these blogs is for the sheer egotism of it – I like the sound of my own voice, so to speak.

I could promise to keep my room tidy, or not spend so much money on clothes. I could resolve to give up my five-cups-a-day tea habit (yeah right). Or I could resolve not to try anything too difficult this year, and just concentrate on living my life. After all, the world’s ending in December next year, right!? Wouldn’t it be a waste to spend it all in the gym trying to get thin for the parade past the Pearly Gates.

So this year, my New Year’s Resolution is to GET ON WITH IT.

What’s yours?

1 Comment

Filed under New Year

One response to “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. very nice

    same resolution here as well!

Leave a Reply

