A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow

A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow by George R.R Martin

HarperVoyager: paperback published 2011: 569 pages

Blood runs truer than oaths

The Seven Kingdoms are divided by war and blood feud as winter approaches like an angry beast. In the northern wastes a horde of hungry, savage people steeped in the dark magic of the wilderness is poised to invade the Kingdom of the North where Robb Stark wears his new-forged crown. And Robb’s defences are ranged against the South, the land of the cunning and cruel Lannisters, who have his young sisters in their power. Throughout Westeros the war for the Iron Throne rages more fiercely than ever, but if the Wall is breached, no king will live to claim it.

 

Be honest, if you were going to read the blurb on the back of any of these books, would you honestly pick them up? But it’s not the cover or the jacket blurb that makes the book – it’s not reviews or TV adaptations or even people telling you that you MUST READ THIS BOOK OR DIE OF IGNORANCE. It’s the characters, the intrigue, the absolute scandalousness of the whole thing. There are no “evil” characters just as there are no “good” characters – they each are a blend of both, and this makes it a complicated read. I say this every time I finish reading one of these books: I have no idea what’s going to happen next. The good guys could really be the bad guys and there are story arcs which look like they have so much potential, and yet the character is suddenly killed off (no spoilers, I promise). I read it with a sick feeling in my stomach sometimes because of the sheer brutality of the plotline. This is what makes these books so good. What was I doing at the strike of midnight? Reading the last few pages of this book, just to make sure that Jon Snow is still alive!

Rating: 9/10

Next Book: Well, technically it’s the same book as it’s part 2 of Book Three of a Song of Ice and Fire… A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold is next on the list.

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

4 responses to “A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow

  1. I have so wanted to read these books but it just feels like it would be a major commitment… you know? There’s so many other books I want to read, too, and these books – there’s so many of them and they are huge! Maybe this should be a New Year’s Resolution for me!

    • I agree it’s a major commitment, but it’s so worth it! I’ve been trying to read a book between each one so I don’t overdo it. But they really are awesome if you love fantasy fiction as I do. Give the first one a go and see how you feel! 🙂

      • Ian

        I planned to read something else between them to but damn their cliffhanger style writing. I have so many books I need to read, but these have really grabbed me and won’t let go.

  2. Ian

    I have to wholeheartedly agree with you. Each chapter is written from an observers pov of each named character and while there are characters that you may not like most have a reason for doing the things they do. Some characters you may start off hating and then starting to like and vice versa. Such a great read am now on book 4 (5 in the paperback releases)

Leave a Reply

