Morpurgo and McDonald’s

It’s not exactly the first place you think of to get a book… but McDonald’s are giving away 9 million copies of Michael Morpurgo’s most popular children’s novels with Happy Meals between 11th January and 7th February. After research by the National Literacy Trust revealed that 8 out of 10 children don’t own a book, they are supporting the new scheme. Titles will include Mossop’s Last Chance and Martians at Mudpuddle Farm, complete with finger puppets. With children’s literacy seemingly on the decline, what do you think of the McDonald’s scheme?

3 Comments

Filed under Booky things, Foody things

3 responses to “Morpurgo and McDonald’s

  1. larosson

    Anything to get kids reading is great – although, I don’t like the fact that McDonalds get press out of it too!

    However, when you consider that owning a book and reading books are two different things the whole complexion of this scheme is a little different. Research has shown that although sales of books are down and, generally speaking, children read less than they used to, more children on average are reading library books than ever before. It’s all about perspective. So maybe the only benefit in this is to McDonalds?

    • I think it’s an interesting point – all the news is about the decline of reading and libraries and the only good news seems to be the rise of the eBooks. I think there should be more research into borrowed books and what children actually do read (because let’s face it, we’re not an illiterate country). Anything that encourages reading is a win in my head, because – quoth George R.R Martin: “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.”
      On the other hand, I’m not a fan of McDonald’s… and I wonder if this will spark the “kids are obese” debate again (after all, if they’re going for the books, what’s the betting they’re going for the Happy Meal first and foremost?)

  2. First off, I hate McDonald’s and I don’ think I’ve eaten there for 6 or 7 years. Second, I love this idea. I am all for anything that gets kids reading (which is also why I’m a big fan of the Harry Potter books). It’s sad to think of kids growing up without books, especially now when I spend a lot of my free time reading them.

Leave a Reply

