The New Horror

Be prepared – with the bitter winds comes terrifying stories. And I can barely contain my excitement for this!

One of my favourite authors of all time, Helen Dunmore, is heading to horror fiction!

The Greatcoat, published by Hammer Books, is set in the 1950s and has been described as a spectral romance. But it’s not only Dunmore (the mistress of the word, in my humble opinion) who is heading for horror. Jeanette Winterson, author of Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, will have a horror novel published this summer, telling a story based on the Pendle witch trials in 1612. And Judy Finnigan’s Eloise will be published by Sphere in Autumn, whilst Melvin Burgess’ novel is headed for bookshelves early next year.

I’m not a great horror reader, but I am so excited over Helen Dunmore’s foray into the genre. I literally own every single book she has ever published – her children’s books, poems and adult novels – and I have never once disliked any of it. Of her new venture, Helen Dunmore says:

“Elizabeth Bowen’s work influences me a lot, particularly The Demon Lover. I also love Daphne du Maurier… I was drawn to the genre because it is intensely dramatic material. To some extent it is a psychological playground. You wonder what is the match between the ghost and the person who is haunted. What is there in the past that has driven them to this point?”

Are you an avid horror fan? What do you think of new horror writers? (And how many Dunmore fans are there out there!?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Booky things

Leave a Reply

