A Dance with Dragons: After the Feast

WARNING: Spoilers ahead

A Dance with Dragons: After the Feast by George R.R Martin

HarperVoyager: Paperback published 2012: 493 pages

The Future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance.

In King’s Landing the Queen Regent, Cersei Lannister, awaits trial, abandoned by all those she trusted; while in the eastern city of Yunkai her brother Tyrion has been sold as a slave. From the Wall, having left his wife and the Red Priestess Melisandre under the protection of Jon Snow, Stannis Baratheon marches south to confront the Boltons at Winterfell. But beyond the Wall the wildling armies are massing for an assault…

On all sides bitter conflicts are reigniting, played out by grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves. The tides of destiny will inevitably lead to the greatest dance of all.

 

 

Okay. I can’t even review this book. This is all just a bit too much. Basically, all you need to know about this book is this:

It trundles along quite happily, not many people die and generally most people are plotting and/or getting their comeuppance (this is a good thing by the way). THEN… it goes completely arse about face and GOES COMPLETELY AND HORRIFYINGLY WRONG.

Honestly. I’m starting to have issue with Mr George R.R Martin. I’m not really sure why he insists on traumatising me like throughout every book. You know how I warned you not to get attached to anyone?

Honestly. Don’t.

Oh, and don’t take sides and start to think that the baddies will get their Just Deserts. Because I can pretty much guarantee they’re not going to. Ever.

I still love it though.

Rating: 10/10

Next book: I honestly have no idea. I’m so traumatised by this book, and so desperate for the next book (which doesn’t look to be out any time soon) that I feel I’m in a vortex of booklessness. Help!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “A Dance with Dragons: After the Feast

  1. I love this series though I only just finished the third book, I can tell this is a series that I will read over and over again and still learn something new LOL :). I am totally going to pick this up once I finish book 5.

  2. I know what you mean – I love these books, but GRRM is going to have to pay for my therapy sessions when it’s all said and done!!

Leave a Reply

