I’ve had my nose in a bunch of books lately in regards to novel structure and the nit-grit oft-ignored parts of creating a polished story. All of that used to seem about as romantic and creative as scraping the walls of a septic tank, so back when I finished my first novel, I just ignored it. Much like I would ignore anyone who told me to scrape the walls of a septic tank.

My approach to editing used to be something like this:

(Brian Regan had it right when he asked why we think it’s a good idea to hand a kid something sharp, spin them around till they almost puke, and then turn them loose in a crowd of children.)

The point is, I had a goal, but I was so spun around I wouldn’t have been able to tell you if I was headed toward it or…

View original post 1,143 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

